Sufjan Stevens Announces New Album Javelin, Unveils “So You Are Tired”: Stream

Trending 3 months ago 131

Sufjan Stevens has announced his caller album, Javelin, owed retired October 6th. As a preview, he’s shared its the archetypal single, “So You Are Tired.”

Javelin was recorded astir wholly by Stevens himself, but includes contributions from The National’s Bryce Dessner and vocalists adrienne maree brown, Hannah Cohen, Pauline de Lassus (aka Mina Tindle), Megan Lui, and Nedelle Torrisi. The 10-track task notably concludes with a screen of Neil Young’s “Thereʼs a World” from his 1972 classical Harvest. The carnal merchandise volition besides beryllium see a 48-page publication featuring artwork by Stevens arsenic good arsenic 10 abbreviated essays giving insights into the songs.

The album’s archetypal azygous “So You Are Tired” marks a large displacement backmost to the scaled-down, acoustic instrumentation reminiscent of 2015’s Carrie & Lowell in lieu of Stevens’ much caller physics offerings similar 2020’s The Ascension and 2021’s five-volume ambient task Convocations. The opus proves that the enigmatic singer-songwriter’s intervening years of mostly instrumental works haven’t dulled his knack for poignant lyricism though, arsenic helium punctuates different honorable yet heartbreaking communicative by asking “Was it truly each conscionable a joke?” Stream “So You Are Tired” below.

Javelin follows the merchandise of Sufjan Stevens’ ballet people Reflections successful May and a vinyl reissue of his 2003 LP Michigan successful June. It arrives connected October 6th via Sufjan Steven’s ain Asthmatic Kitty Records. Pre-orders are ongoing.

Javelin Artwork:

sufjan stevens javelin medium  artwork screen  truthful  you are bushed   preorder

Javelin Tracklist:
01. Goodbye Evergreen
02. A Running Start
03. Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
04. Everything That Rises
05. Genuflecting Ghost
06. My Red Little Fox
07. So You Are Tired
08. Javelin (To Have and To Hold)
09. Shit Talk
10. Thereʼs a World